I went for the walk. I left the house without a word to anyone and kept walking. The moon was bright, beautiful, mysterious and I asked it to be my guide tonight. I started listening to the latest Frank Ocean album and kept walking. I was receiving messages from them asking where I was and if I needed company. I wanted to be alone, I did not want to return. I wanted to keep on until my legs hurt. I had no money in my pockets, a little self conscious of not wearing a bra and being alone in the middle of the night. But I was not afraid. The guilt was bad though. I just wanted the pain in my chest and the shaking of my hands to stop.

I wanted to sit down with a stranger and talk about life while we watched the moon. I was willing to distract myself with anything. Thirty minutes later I had ignored the calls but I replied some of the messages. One ate at my heart,”For better or worse?” Then they reminded me of the word we were to be using when we needed time to breathe. I used the word.

Apparently my father had left the house to look for me around the area.  That somehow made me more upset than I expected and I felt like a brat, stupid child causing unnecessary anxiety. I told him I was okay and I just needed to breathe. I told myself if there was Hell, there was a special place for me. One hour later I was no longer shaking. I decided to turn back as I regained clarity of how deserted the road was getting.

I’ve always wished to be alone when my bipolar is erupting within me. I don’t want to worry anyone, to be seen so irritable, angry, frightened, uncontrollable and enmeshed totally in the blackest caves of the mind. I wasn’t like this a few months ago. I guess my illness is progressing instead of healing. I don’t want to be anyone’s worry and problem.

There’s something about having someone to come back to though. Someone who can calm you down. However, I am at the point in my life where it would still be okay if no one was there.

Leave a Reply

